Perks of Being A Wallflower soon in theaters!

Perks of Being A Wallflower on the the big screen.

I remember like 2-3 years ago when I was wandering around Festival Mall’s Powerbooks with my mother looking for something good to read and found nothing. I just settled with a book that has words debossed on it’s cover. There it was, Perks of Being A Wallflower by a guy I couldn’t pronounce the last name.

I read it in one sitting because I couldn’t just get enough of Charlie’s adventures of sex, drugs and alcohol. He made me feel infinite like he did. I fell in love with the characters as well. My eyes went wide when I figured out that Patrick was having sex with the school’s football quarterback, Brad! Didn’t see that one coming, for sure! & I love it. It made me crave for more!

Movie-wise, I know that it will capture the story as it was written simply because the author of the novel and the director of the film is the same person. Stephen Chbosky is a very talented person with Jericho and screenplay, Rent under his belt. The only problem I have is about the character who plays Patrick. I imagined him to be a little bit taller, a little big bigger and more brooding than the one casted because it was a surprise for both Charlie and I to realize he was gay because of the way he looked. Plus, to me, he kinda like the guy who played Tsukasa Domyouji from Boys Over Flowers. Oh well! I didn’t imagine Emma Watson play Sam too. I found her a little too tame to play the part. Logan Lerman, on the other hand is perfect for the job! With his innocent good looks and charisma, he’s a big hit.

This critically acclaimed Rated R to PG-13 novel-turned-film will be hitting US theaters next half of the year. That’s on September 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

